we’re still together & i’m still terrible

July 9, 2011 § Leave a comment

During university, because of the coop program, I moved every four months. When I graduated from university, I planned to live in a different city every two years. A step towards stability.

June 30, 2007
I moved to Chicago exactly two years ago. A bit surprised to find myself still here. But even if I stay put, people come and go. Greg is going to London, even though he loves Toronto. Denise is not going to London, even though she says she will, even though her love is in Toronto. Who knows where my journey may or may not take me.

Whereas 2007 flew by (a new relationship; a project in Tokyo; a marathon), 2008 inched forward. I went to a conference in Hong Kong and talked to people about working in Asia. In a way, being in a relationship and wanting to move to another continent is asking for a bad breakup. Nevertheless, the breakup shocked me. Into realizing that I’m terrible at relationships. I compared and contrasted people I know in Toronto vs Hong Kong vs New York. People in Toronto are less terrible at relationships. we become the people we hang out with. I moved back to Toronto.

July 5, 2010
I’m looking for the following.
1. Less than $450,000
2. More than 900 sq ft
3. Big windows

Whereas 2010 flew by (a new relationship; a short staffed department; a condo), 2011 inched forward. Hin, one of the people I talked to in Hong Kong in 2008, visited Toronto and talked to me about working in Asia. In a way, being in a relationship and wanting to move to another continent is asking for a bad breakup.

Vendy: You studied in France. Why can’t you work in Asia?
S: Asia is not France.
Vendy: There is cheese in Asia.

Nevertheless, we are still together. I’m still terrible at relationships. S is getting better at gardening. Maybe we’ll be fine.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading we’re still together & i’m still terrible at keen keen :).

meta

