365 grateful project (count=10)

October 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

I’m feeling okay now. My first response to feeling okay: Should I go visit three countries starting with U (Uganda/Uruguay/Uzbekistan)? Okay, I’m making fun of Eat Pray Love. Which I have never read. But I hear it’s about a woman who divorces her husband and visits Italy/India/Indonesia. My real first response: Should I go climb seven volcanoes in Guatemala over the holidays? I only climbed Acatenango, Fuego and Pacaya the last time I visited. But: Perhaps happiness is the love of what is here and now.

  • Completed first round interviews. One candidate seemed genuinely attached to Manulife: “It was my first actuarial experience.” My first memory of Manulife dates back to my first week in Toronto. I saw the lawn and immediately decided it would be a great place to work. Even now, I find myself sighing as I walk through the garden. Burning with leaves. Bright even at night.
  • They seem to be brewing Caffè Verona everyday at the Starbucks close to the office. “Literature lovers out there will recognize Verona as the city where Shakespeare set Romeo and Juliet. Although the play ends in tragedy, we’d like you to know that every cup of this coffee has a happy ending.”
  • Once busy seasons is over, I’m going to spend a couple weekends visiting coffee spots west of bathurst, east of don valley. And read the Book of Laughter and Forgetting: “People are always shouting they want to create a better future. It’s not true. The future is an apathetic void of no interest to anyone. The past is full of life, eager to irritate us, provoke and insult us, tempt us to destroy or repaint it. The only reason people want to be masters of the future is to change the past.” And wonder: Does the past tempt us to destroy the future?
Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 365 grateful project (count=10) at keen keen :).

meta

